Tackling an age-old controversy

Produced by Saatchi & Saatchi in 1971, this iconic ad still sparks a reaction.

I’ve just started reading From those wonderful folks who gave you pearl harbor (incidentally the inspiration for Mad Men too, which I really have to get round to watching..). Anyway, intrigued by Della Femina’s admiration for a poster on the wall of Saatchi & Saatchi for the Health Education Council, I googled the real thing. Although I quite equally long to take a sneak-peak around the offices of Saatchi & Saatchi to see if the poster still exists.

This campaign amazes me by its audacity and how it still would be able to trigger a reaction nearly forty years on. I think it questions an age old sexual prejudice that would have been particularly shocking at the time, particularly in the advent of printing to a mass audience. Crucially appealing to the average male and their more relaxed stance towards contraception and lack of thought towards any consequences, it marks an explicit attempt to change attitudes and at the same time alter behaviour in the 1970s. However, the subject is also handled with humour as the man’s realistic stance relates to the surrealness of the situation. I only wish the HEC equivalent advertising of today was as good and effective at capturing the basic cause and outcome of a hotly debated and heavily emotional subject. As I am sure this advert would capture boys’ attention more than any banana.

4 responses to “Tackling an age-old controversy

  1. I personally have a tendency to agree with almost everything that has been
    put into writing within “Tackling an age-old controversy
    | Marzipan and Marmite”. Thank you for all of the facts.
    Thanks,Ronda

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I
    think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that,
    this is great blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  3. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

  4. Pingback: 这对兄弟买买买出了第一家跨国广告集团 | 这个人有好奇心·

Leave a Reply

