I love you just the way you are

Awww a serenade about Tea and that always capped Sydney (who knew that this was his name?!) gets his first love- tea. While I think that this advert takes a while to heat up, when it gets going it is rather sweet.

I love the little details like the tea-bag transforming into a heart and the suspensive clock ticking and tap dripping pause at the end as he takes his first sip. His first kiss if you would prefer. There is also a slightly whimsical air to the whole thing as I felt rather sorry for the lonely Sydney reliant on his tea– the “you never let me down bit” implying that poor Sydney has been jilted in the past. I think the advert succeeds though because it is soppy, it grabs at the heartstrings– that emotional impulse that gets people buying (funnily enough). Plus the song has that humm-able quality, with the lyrics reminiscient of a song out of Disney (no wonder it is downloadable on Amazon). Although the Inspiration Room informs me that it is actually an old Billy Joel song so no surprises there-

Don’t go changing,
to try and please me
You never let me down before…

I said I love you, and that’s forever
And this I promise from the heart
I couldn’t love you any better
I love you just the way you are…

The ad also emphasises the simplicity and tradition behind a cup of Tetley tea– with just milk and one sugar, I get the feeling that Sydney’s love is a bit of a Jane Eyre in the tea world- reliable, comforting but no exotic green tea. All in all there is something very English about this advert by Dare and I look forward to seeing how this tea-loving relationship develops…

Leave a Reply

