Good leg, bad leg, stick

Even though it is stereotypically British to start with an apology, I will do so nonetheless – sorry for my recent lack of blogging. A flurry of interviews, assessment days and full working days (my “about me” is finally in need of an overhaul) ensured that my typing time was numbered, but finally I can see the light. A tad over-dramatic perhaps, but a currently indeterminate horizon of 9-to-5 days and weekends free of pre-interview cramming is gloriously refreshing. I am embracing structure – or a structured spontaneity as my days and evenings evolve in their “last minute changes” manner.

Anyhow this all got me horribly self-analytical and philosophical on my latest meanderings on East Coast trains – a shame really as I have managed to avoid overly-reflective posts up till now. I was returning from visiting my granny, who apart from berating my “constant bad hair days”, is wonderfully warm and has an opinion on anything, although particularly clothes. She recently had her hip replaced, and around her still obsessively tidy house, were instruments to make sitting and standing up more easy – chairs were raised off the ground, supports to hold perched next to doors. And then there was the stick, which in reality was a single crutch, but which was there to assist my granny in everyday walking – until the “bad left leg” became as good as her right. Thus the phrase “good leg, bad leg, stick” was welcomed into the house as granny marched to its tune as she climbed the stairs.

The reason I mention this phrase is that it struck me as relevant for my current life – a metaphor for the good days, bad weeks and helping hands/learning curves that greet me as I start my career. Cheesy and contrived although it sounds, I like the idea of life being separated into the “good leg, bad leg, stick” as we grow older. It encapsulates the fact that we are moving forward, but very often need that “stick” to help us. I think that I am in that “stick stage” now – like my granny awaiting the recovery of my “good leg”, but pleased to be improving nonetheless. Do you have any similar weird but worldly words of wisdom?

Leave a Reply

