Adpraisal – what’s in a name?

The eagle-eyed among you will have noticed that http://www.adpraisal.wordpress.com is no more. Revitalised with chocolate and home-bound due to the elements (what drought?!), I had too much time on my hands and made the decision to change the URL of my blog to match its title – logical, or so I thought… “In with the new and out with the old”, I was like an online Gok Wan putting the finishing touches to my now 8 month diva of a blog. Unwittingly, in the process, I forgot Google – the shy spouse of this relationship, and with this error created a whole host of defunct links in the process. Unknown to me, changing a blog’s URL (a deceptively simple task) does not automatically guarantee that your links will change on Google – a process that will apparently take over 3 months… and as such I find myself eating more of my chocolate rabbit in consolation, my site views having taken a fair plummet.

Anyhow this got me thinking about the significance of a name and the success and failures of the celebrity stage-name and a product’s rebranding to embue a new sense of character. Ultimately opening the question that the rebranding of my blog might not instigate immediate or indeed any new benefits. Consider these successful examples of rebranding – Santander, Aviva and Dave sound much more fresh, inviting and colourful than their historic past nomers (previously Abbey National, Norwich Union and UK Gold). While on the less successful side of the spectrum, Coco Pops brief turn as “Choco Krispies” and the Royal Mail’s 15-month stint as “Consignia” in 2002 proved publicly unpopular and short-lived. Similarly, even Coca-Cola’s recent attempt to whiten up its traditionally red cans with a polar bear demonstrated that the saying of “not messing with something that is already right”, and I can only hope that I have not made a similar marketing mess. However, if all does fail at least I can be smug with the knowledge that I am not Gap who made the drastic decision to alter their logo in 2010, to then scrap it a week later following a huge online backlash. Readers be kind!

    Poor decisions made public –

Leave a Reply

